Posts Tagged ‘UK Association of Buddhist Studies’

The UK Association for Buddhist Studies will have its conference this year Tuesday and Wednesday, July 6th and 7th at the University of Leeds.

“Historiography, adaptation and contemporary practice” – at the Michael Sadler Building, University of Leeds.



  • Prof. Steven Collins (Chicago): “No-self, gender, and madness”
  • Dr Joanna Cook (Cambridge): “Remaking Thai Buddhism through international pilgrimage”
  • Prof. Duncan McCargo (Leeds): “Buddhism, legitimacy and violence in southern Thailand”
  • Dr Catherine Newell (SOAS): “The new Buddhist missionaries: the global ambitions of Thailand’s Dhammakaya temples”
  • Dr James Taylor (Adelaide): “Mobility and resistance; modern monastic questers”
  • Dr James Benn (McMaster): “A Chinese apocryphal sutra in its eighth-century context”
  • Prof. Ann Heirman (Ghent): “Speech is silver, silence is golden? Speech and silence in the Buddhist sagha”
  • Dr John Kieschnick (Bristol): “The adjudication of sources in traditional Chinese Buddhist historiography”
  • Dr Francesca Tarocco (Manchester): “Buddhist images in modern China”

Film showing

  • Dr Patrice Ladwig (Max Planck Institute): “The last friend of the corpse: funerals, morticians and crematoria in Chiang Mai”

Postgraduate presentations

  • Jane Caple (Leeds): “Contemporary revival and development of Tibetan Buddhist monasticism in eastern Qinghai (Amdo)”
  • Berthe Jansen (Oxford): “Buddhist and non-Buddhist themes contained in Tibetan wedding recitations”
  • Lewis Doney (SOAS): “The daṇḍa-swinging Dharmarāja: early Tibetan appropriations of Indian Buddhist narratives”
  • Frederick Chen (Oxford): “A pagan god transformed into a Buddhist god or a Buddhist god transformed into a Chinese god?”

Also featuring surprise musical performance
Registration (please register before end of June 2010): £45 (UKABS/WREAC £30; students £20).
Register before 31 May for a £5 discount. Fee includes lunch & dinner on 6 July and lunch on 7 July.
Further information and registration: or
Organising committee: Martin Seeger, Francesca Tarocco, Ian Harris, Jane Caple